Dad

I see

the fear in my father’s eyes

as he beheld the world fall,

as he screams through

the wall,

and starts to lose it all.
I see

the fear in his eyes

when he gives me

an hour’s worth

of lecture

as he tries to

tell me to do

better.
His pain

he does not keep;

he has kept his hurt in

for far too long

already.
He sees

the world around me

crumble

as buildings topple

over one another

and he sees

my position

under the rubble.
He weeps

as he predicts the day

I die

by sword or by stone.

He unleashes his wrath of

frustrations

he’s been through
“Don’t die, son.

Keep staying alive.

Keep breathing,

keep moving,

keep working 

to survive.”
I see

the fear in my father’s eyes

as he beheld the world fall

He does not want me 

to lose it all

He does not want me

to lose.
“Survive, son.”

It’s okay, Pa.

Don’t worry.

I’ll live.

By,

Aaron J. Patrick, KL

