A Clean House

If I be a  duster  to  away  the cob  webs  sweep
Spun so intensely spiders  of my  memories
Spiders  of  busy, a  spin  not  of  less
Legs  of  plenty,  a  weave  not of  rest
Sticky  threads  of  abominable strength
Knots  of  tricky,  knots  of dense

 

If  I  be  a  scouring  sponge  to  away  this  moss  scrub
Which  spores  the  creaks  and corners  of  my  thoughts
Of  comfort  the  nooks  of  my mind  sought
Of  havoc,  my  peace  of wrought
Slimy  and  slippery  in  my  hold  not!
Greenish  and  devilish ,  the shame  of  my  brought

 

If  I  be  a  broom,  this  dust  of my  sweep
Swish,  swish  away  from  my sanity
This  stubborn  cling  of  my own  bring
Dust  of  settled, layers  of  many
This  deep  closet  of  skeletons hiding
Dreams  of  disquiet,  a sleepless  sleep

 

A  most  thorough  spring  clean  is  of  my  need
The  cob  webs,  the  moss,  the dust  dusty
The  aisle  of  cleaning  tools  to my  browse  keen
My  messy  thoughts  a spotless  sprucing

 

Of  relevance  my mind  to  be screened
Gnawing  claws  a  snip, a snip!
A  clean  house  is  mine  to keep
Of  cob  webs, moss  and  dust empty!

 

 

By:  Mariam  Bee, Ipoh, Perak

 

