A Thousand Reasons

 

Because we’ve met

as your eyes shone across the wilderness

I saw lights reflected off your colored hair

and the smile that rekindled my dying dreams

 

Because a cigarette was lighted

and an explosion triggered

I found heat again in my lonesome winter

Because as I burn, I found my path

in the darkest forest

clearer than ever

 

But because of the smoke, baby

our future is masked, where the cards cannot foretell

Because this very moment is all that we have

I must unfold my heart and let the secrets fall

My magic is fading

because you’ve transformed me to my previous form, a frog

 

Because I am puny and primitive, you see

Because I am undecided between water and land

I didn’t know which is the right way to breath

Am I living or just being not dead

I never needed to find out until you reminded me

of a possibility, or maybe

destiny

 

Because of the way we talk

how time never passes

Or how it travels backwards as I grow younger

Because I’ve discovered a weaving bond

that doesn’t feel like any love I once thought I knew

Because I’ve found faith, as faith has found me

and rises like a mountain in my dreams

Because I could no longer turn back

once I’ve witnessed the flicker of the sunlight behind the peak

Because I need the journey, the adventure

Oh, give me the kiss

to make me the man again

Because I need this arm to wield a sword

and another to hold you

I need the legs to trample my fear

and the shoulder to bear your tears

 

Because we’ve met

like two stars from separate galaxies

I was seeking a thousand reasons to explain the impossibility

But maybe just one would suffice

because we’ve already

met

By: Chiew Ruoh Peng, Selangor

 

tumblr_static_tumblr_mrujjhmmlj1rv8h3ao1_500.jpg

