The Boulevard of Fame

A  great  claim  to  my  name unnamed

A  dissolve  in  the  fluidity  of  the  passing  grain

Of  time  lost  in  a  measured destine

A  hold  to  the  minimalism  of

vain  acclaim

My  identity  of  none  washed in  faceless  waves

The  moving  sands  of  my ventures  in  this  paused  stay

What  have  I  to  say  of  my life’s  display

The  glory  I  seek  have  flown by  my  way

Down  this  trodden  path  I  give  a  chase

To  grasp  a  fleeting  grain  my make  to  stay

Alas!  Too  late  in  my  eyes  my  sojourn  passes  away

Adventures  the  mind  visit  and  dreams  of  forsake

Eagle’s  wings  to  my  station race

Climbs  fast  to  disappear  in the  heavens  wait

What  is  this  but  short passage

A  vain  try  to  write  my  name the  boulevard  of  fame

A  sprinkling  dash  to  this fame  game

Many  like  me  stranded  a bloom  in  the  desert  plain

To  disappear  a  whisper  like shrivelled  leaves  dead

Except  maybe  a  generation  or  two  my  story  brayed

The  sketch  of  my  colourful array  like  the  rainbow erased

In  God’s  memory  my  deeds etched  over  my  name

 

By: Mariam Bee, Ipoh, Perak

l3.jpg

