I Choose Me

You don’t love me

You love the thought I always make myself available to you,

You don’t love me

You love the comfort of how I relentlessly make excuses for you.

You don’t love me

You love the power you have over my emotions manipulating it for your own personal gain,

You don’t love me

You love the idea I made you my priority, your wants, needs, feelings became my main.

You don’t love me

You love the impression that I would suffer in torment if I ever lose you,

You don’t love me

You love that I choose to be bounded indefinitely to you.

You don’t love me. But thanks to you I finally did,

Thanks to you

You made me more mindful, more aware of the people I let in.

Thanks to you

You showed me by example that not everyone deserves my unconditional love, attention and precious time,

Thanks to you

You breaking my heart allowed my heart to grow bigger, stronger and more resilient combined.

Thanks to you

Your absence gave me an opportunity to rebuild, regain, re-invent myself for the better,

Thanks to you

You became the catalyst for the changes I needed to make to become greater.

Most of all, thanks to you

You losing me was the day I found the love I had within myself,

Thanks to you,

You not choosing me was the day I finally chose myself.

 

By: Nabilah Jasmine, KL.

ichooseme

 

 

 

 

 

