As I watch them

As I take a chair and sit,
As I feel heavy with sadness,
As tears form at my eyes,
I watch them

As he swims at the surface of the water,
As his friend lies at the bottom,
As they both long to survive,
I watch them

As he swims above, playing with the current and bubbles,
As his friend lies down, wondering when is his time,
As they both will their time away,
I watch them

As he gasps for breath,
As he lies at the bottom,
As he is struggling to live,
I watch him

As he occasionally fights and flies to the top,
As he stiffens and falls down,
As he sinks and drops again,
I watch him

As he keeps to himself,
As he lies down,
As he knows it is coming,
I watch him

As I comfort him,
As I help him ease into it,
As I know he is in pain,
I watch him,
Dying.

As he fights again,
As he tries again,
As he stops again,
I watch him,
Dead.

by,

Wendy Wong, Kuala Lumpur.

Fishies

One thought on “As I watch them

Leave a Reply

