The Man of Many

Who are you I do not seem to know

You who look straight blank at me.

I ask my ma and pa: who is this

I see night and day, summer winter shine or rain?

They say he is their one and only child.

I ask my clusters of friends: who is this

Talking firing every wicked pun?

They say he is their trusting confidant.

I ask my esteemed teacher: who is this

Engaged in Socratic dialogues like Rodin?

He says he is the seeker of the Forms.

Night falls and homeward I retreat.

There lies my love of whom I ask: who is this

That you kiss and stroke in the dead of night

And the life of day?

He says he is the lover ideal dream fulfilled.

Now you and I are face to face,

I ask: Who will you be if I strip

Off the veneer and the paint,

Leaving you naked as Day One?

by,

Edward Ong

man_of_many_faces_by_yapattack-d5ccz43

image from yapattack.deviantart.com

Leave a Reply

